The 8th Koorie Art Show 2020

The 8th Koorie Art Show 2020

Event status:
5 December 2020 - 21 February 2021



Ground Floor, Yarra Building
Federation Square

The 8th Koorie Art Show 2020

The Koorie Art Show is our annual event showcasing the diverse talent of Victoria’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists in one inclusive space. This year we will be presenting the 8th Koorie Art Show.

The Koorie Art Show is an open-entry, non-acquisitive award exhibition, presenting the works of Koorie and Victorian based Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander artists (new and emerging, mid-career and senior) aged 17 years and above. All submitted entries will be included in the exhibition and are eligible to be considered for one of several cash awards.  The 2020 award recipients are as follows:

  • Clinton Naina (Meriam Mir), Landfill 2020, bleach on cotton. Creative Victoria Award For Excellence In Any Media.
  • Alan Stewart(Taungurung), Remembrance 2020, photographic print. Metro Tunnel Creative Program 2D Award.
  • Lorraine Brigdale (Yorta Yorta), Yenbena Munalibik 2020, raffia coil weave, handmade ochre paint, handmade botanic ink and river stone. Viva Energy Australia 3D Award.
  • Deanne Gilson (Wadawurrung), Post Pandemic, After the Gaze, the King Parrots Bring Hope 2020, white ancestral ochre, acrylic, wattle tree sap, fabric, elastic, wood on stretched linen. City of Melbourne Aboriginal Melbourne Award.
  • Sean Miller (Kamilaroi), Twilight Flight 2020, print on aluminium. KHT Emerging Artist Award.
  • Patricia Pittman (Yuin Nation), River Dreaming 2020, acrylic ink on paper. KHT Encouragement Award (1 of 2).
  • Iluka Sax-Williams (Taungurung, Tibrean), Untitled 2020, pokerwork on kangaroo skin. KHT Encouragement Award (2 of 2).
  • Georgia MacGuire (Georgia’s grandmother was stolen from Wurundjuri Country), Protection #1 2020, paper bark, cotton, emu feathers, gum nuts. KHT People’s Choice Award.

Click the artist names highlighted in red above to read an interview with the award recipient.

Watch award recipients Clinton Naina, Lorraine Brigdale, and Iluka Sax-Williams discuss their work with Koorie Heritage Trust CEO Tom Mosby.

Take a virtual tour of the exhibition below.


Click the image below to download the Exhibition Room Guide.

Click to download the 8th Koorie Art Show Room Sheet


We acknowledge and thank the judging panel of the 8th Koorie Art Show 2020.

  • Uncle Larry Walsh (Taungurung) – Elder and renowned storyteller who has worked directly in cultural heritage and was vital to the progress of the Woor-Dungin’s Criminal Record Discrimination Project
  • Maxine Briggs (Taungwurrung, Yorta Yorta) – Indigenous Research Centre, State Library of Victoria and first Chairperson of Songlines Aboriginal Music Corporation, established the Koorie Arts Collective
  • Stacie Piper (Wurundjeri, Djadjawurrung and Ngurai Illum Wurrung) – Victorian NAIDOC Committee Chair 2020, First nations Curator at Tarrawarra Museum of Art, and an integral part of the Djirri Djirri Dance Group

DOWNLOAD the Koorie Heritage Trust’s judging policy and procedures.

Artwork photography credit: Christian Capurro


We gratefully acknowledge the following Award and Exhibition Partners


We also acknowledge the support of our Precinct Partner